Last updated Aug 1, 2024

Knit and Crochet Fidget Toys

Hi all! Today I am finally getting around to something I have been wanting to do for a while now! I am going to be trying out all sorts of patterns to make my own fidget toys. I am someone that always needs to have busy hands, so I try to have a fidget toy or some sort nearby. I have in the past made some marble slide fidgets out of leftover sock yarn, but I wanted to look into what else I can make. All of these creations will have the pattern linked with them so you can make your own. These make great things for yourself, or gifts for friends. Sometimes even classrooms or senior living centers may request items like this as well! A good thing about making fidget toys is they can be made with scraps/leftovers. Ones that use more yarn can be great for that single skein in your stash that you have no idea what to do with. I have tried to include patterns that free or low cost, I will try to remember to mark if the pattern is paid or not (but also I may forget, sorry)


Fidget Ball

First up, we have a huge, extra squishy fidget ball. It kinda looks like a shower poof doesn’t it? So I assumed this would be done super fast. Like within an hour. Wrong. Very wrong. This took most of the afternoon and almost a whole skein of Super Saver.

    You will need:
  • ~1 skein of Red Heart Super Saver or similar yarn (something that changes colors a lot is fun!)
  • A 4.5mm crochet hook. You want your stitches to be a bit tight
  • Fidget Ball
  • A single locking stitch marker
  • Free video pattern here

This is pretty big! I cannot squish the whole thing with one hand. It is nice to squish and toss around. Since it is so soft I don't have to worry about causing too much damage if it gets away from me! This is essentially a mobius strip. If you look in my photo you can see a ruffle coming out of the center. You can continually pull on the ruffle and will never run out. Looking at the comments of the video, it looks like these are popular in senior living centers. I have just about enough yarn left that I might make a mini one to match it.


Back to top | Blog | Home