Wild Oleander Hooded Scarf


Start/End: Apr 23, 2024/TBD
Craft: Crochet
Yarn Used: Lion Brand Mandala in 240 Groot (x2 balls used)
Hook Used: 5.0mm/H
Pattern From: Andrea R. Williams

Have you ever been working on a big project for a long time and you just need something you can finish quicker? Just need that little “Hehe look what I finished?” Well I am going through that. I also needed a project to take with me over to a friend's house to keep my hands busy while we watched The Cat Returns together.

I have had this pattern in my queue since I learned how to crochet, and now I am finally getting around to doing it! I think this is a really fun looking piece that is pretty practical too. I can see myself using this a lot during the fall and winter around here. I love scarves and shawls, but I am always fussing with them. Cowls are nice since they stay in place a little better.


Apr 29, 2024

WIP of front of cowl

Here was my progress on the front of the cowl after a couple days. I am really enjoying the earthy feel of this yarn. It was a gift from my mother’s yarn stash, so it is a color combo I normally wouldn’t pick myself. There are also some blues and grays coming up that you will get to see in a future update!

The pattern calls for aran weight yarn, but I am using a DK weight. I usually like to use a 5mm hook with the Mandala yarn. This means I will have to add some extra repeats! I am adding two extra repeats of the pattern, and as of this morning I am currently working on the last repeat. (Photo was taken a couple days ago).

I have been working on this mostly while binge watching through the first season of the g3 Monster High cartoon. I have seen a few episodes here and there, but I was never good at keeping up with when there are new episodes. I found out my library system had a DVD set of the first season to rent! I’ve been enjoying the story so far and I think it has a lot of good messages for kids. I think the characters and the way they interact with one another is a huge step up from g1.

Once this bandana part is done, the two “wings” at the top will be connected and the hood will be built up from there. I will probably be finishing my last repeat either today or tomorrow and then starting with the hood soon. I probably won’t do another update until I am done. :)