Last updated Sept 22, 2024

Autumn Equinox 2024

Welcome! And welcome fall! Today I wanted to share what I did to welcome fall this year. The fall is my favorite time of the year, and this festival is pretty special to me. While I just prefer to call it the Autumn Equinox now, “Mabon” was the first pagan festival I celebrated after starting my journey. I don’t really follow the wheel of the year in the textbook sense, but I do enjoy celebrating and appreciating the change of the seasons.

The other day I grabbed some pumpkins from a local grower. Way cheaper than the ones they are selling at the grocery store, and better looking too. I want to go back and get more when I have some extra spending money, but I am happy with what I got for $10. Some critter tried chewing on the orange one. I considered putting hot sauce on it, but I felt that was mean. I can always get more pumpkins.

I spent yesterday doing a lot of cleaning. I know cleaning is usually associated with spring, but I am on vacation from work and felt some sort of inspiration. I finally decided to tackle the laundry backlog. Folding the mountain of washed clothing, finishing washing all the unwashed items, and even washing the rugs and pet bedding. Then cleaning down the machine afterwards. I also did a well needed vacuum of the living room. My corgi is shedding, and vacuuming ended up taking over an hour because of having to stop and clean out several fur clogs. Washed all the pet dishes and did a quick wash of the floors too. I haven’t had much energy or motivation for cleaning lately, so I am glad to take advantage of the days I feel inspired.

For the equinox itself I made a big pot of chili for my family, a fall favorite of ours. We like a chunky chili, with lots of beans and veggies. Many of the herbs/spices used in chili are good for protection magic. I like to view this recipe as a way of protecting and preparing my family for the darker, colder half of the year. There are also some optional add-in ingredients that bring in the fall spirit. This isn’t exactly a recipe, as much as it is a recipe idea.

Fall Equinox Protection Chili

Ingredients

  • 1lb or so of ground beef (see note below)
  • One 28 oz tin crushed tomatoes, One 28 oz tin petite diced tomatoes, and one 14 oz tin of diced tomatoes with green chilis
  • One decent sized onion, diced
  • Five or so garlic gloved, minced
  • Two tins of cooked beans, drained and rinsed. I usually use kidney beans and black beans.
  • Chili powder to taste, around 2 tbsp to start, flavor usually intensifies as it cooks. I make my own with this recipe
  • Optional fall add ins: corn, mushrooms, cubed butternut squash, a scoop of pumpkin puree
  • Optional toppings: sour cream, cheese, diced avocado, hot sauce

Note: You could swap ground beef for ground turkey, or go meatless. Really, if you include the extra veggies, this recipe is hearty enough without needing anything extra. However, if you want the extra protein consider using veggie crumbles, tvp, or an extra can of beans.

Seasonings like cumin and garlic tend to be associated with protection, while onions are thought to absorb negative energy. Oregano brings health and joy, while paprika increases the strength of the other ingredients around it. All that, along with the comfort and love of a cherished comfort meal, make this chili a strong spell for me.

Chili should only be made in a slow cooker, and you will not change my mind. Generally I brown my meat in a separate pan, before adding it to the slow cooker, retaining some of the grease. Then I dump the rest of the ingredients right in the slow cooker and let it go on low for at least 8 hours. I check on it every hour or two, giving it a good stir and adding additional seasonings if needed. If your chili is too chunky you can add some broth or a can of tomato puree.

I have these cute little hello kitty bowls the other month. They are nice for tiny sides or dips, but also they are a perfect size for offering dishes. I think everyone has their own way of doing offerings. I generally like to leave a small serving near some lit incense. When the incense has burnt, I consider the offering accepted and take care of the plate. Today’s chili was given as an offering to Hestia, to ask her to be by my side, as I tend to spend more time in the kitchen during the fall and winter months.

Even if you are not pagan/witchy, take this fall to enjoy the cozy parts of life, and appreciate your family (this includes found family of course). This is a great time for reflection on your “harvests” this year, and that doesn’t just have to be limited to gardeners. I hope all of you reading this have a lovely and safe fall.

Back to top | Blog | Home